ETSI Fellows

ETSI Fellowship Programme

The ETSI Fellowship programme rewards individuals who have made an outstanding personal contribution to ETSI, to building the work of ETSI, or raising its reputation in specific sectors of standardization. Any individual representative of an ETSI member may propose a candidate for an ETSI Fellowship. Candidates for an ETSI Fellowship must have been proposed by representatives of at least two ETSI members. Fellowships are awarded each year by an Award Committee composed of the ETSI General Assembly chairman and vice-chairmen, the ETSI Board chairman and the ETSI Director General.

2017 ETSI Fellows

General Assembly #69 - April 2017
frede-askFrede Ask was elected in 1988 as ETSI Deputy Director, and served in that capacity and Deputy Director General until his retirement in 1996. Frede was also ETSI’s legal advisor, secretary to the ETSI IPR Steering Committee and was instrumental in shaping the IPR policy of the Institute at its beginnings. Thanks to his negotiation with the European Commission, he helped achieve recognition of ETSI as an official European Standards Organization, alongside CEN and CENELEC. Frede Ask is fondly remembered as a great personality and as one of the individuals who helped define what ETSI is. This award, granted posthumously, was received by Frede’s son Henrik Ask on his behalf.
Nuno EncarnaçãoNuno Encarnação has participated in ETSI since 1992. From 1997 to 2000 he served as chairman of the Analogue Terminals and Access committee, and then as chairman of the Access and Terminals committee until 2006. He led the development of a range of TBR specifications for regulatory requirements for fixed network access, and later the Harmonised Standards under the Radio & Telecommunications Terminal Equipment (R&TTE) Directive. These included in particular TBR 21 for analogue non-voice access requirements. From 1999 to 2006 he was vice-chair of the ETSI group coordinating the implementation of the range of Harmonised Standards required for the R&TTE Directive. As chairman of TC AT Nuno also oversaw the introduction of cable network standardization at ETSI, which has now resulted in the creation of a dedicated committee, TC Cable.
John-PillipsJohn Phillips has been active in ETSI since 1989 through different leadership, technical and strategic roles. As the Chairman of ETSI General Assembly from 2006 to 2010 he led ETSI through a number of changes, putting in place the financial reporting structure and contributed to the EC’s Future Landscape of European Standardization. He also served as vice-chair of the General Assembly from 2002 to 2006 and as a member of the ETSI Board from 1999 to 2006.


2016 ETSI Fellows

General Assembly #68 - November 2016
Francisco-Da- SilvaFrancisco da Silva was influential in the CEPT committee that triggered the establishment of ETSI, as well as e.g. in the CEPT group that determined the relative allocation of responsibilities on Radio spectrum matters between CEPT and ETSI. He was the chairman of the ETSI General Assembly from 1998 to 2002 and chairman of the ETSI Board from 2002 to 2008. He continues to be active in the technical standardization work of ETSI and is a member of the Board of ETSI. He is currently Senior Counselor for standardization and Technical Regulation at Huawei Sweden.
Alain-MalobertiAlain Maloberti has been intensively involved in the research, development and standardization activities of the GSM system since the mid-80’s and has contributed heavily to standardization bodies. In ETSI he chaired the SMG2 group, in charge of the radio aspects of GSM for 10 years. In addition, he chaired the UMTS group preparing 3G standardization from 1990 to 1992. Alain Maloberti was active in promoting the GSM solution outside of Europe and therefore has contributed to a true global adoption of the standard. He is currently Senior Vice-President at Orange Labs Networks.
Olly-WheatonOliver Wheaton was the founding chairman of TC ERM from 1997 to 2005. During this time it grew to be one of the largest technical committees in ETSI in terms of participation and workload. He was instrumental in leading the group in drafting some of the most important ETSI standards, including those related to the R&TTE Directive, which continues to have a huge impact on the regulatory environment today.  Oliver was the Deputy Director for Mobile Services in the UK Radiocommunications Agency (RA). He has taken the lead for ETSI in GRSC, and has led for the UK in ETSI’s Technical Assembly and is currently the head of the UK delegation in ETSI’s General Assembly.
General Assembly #67 - April 2016
Karsten-MeinholdKarsten Meinhold represented Siemens and later Nokia Siemens Networks at ETSI. Karsten served two terms as a much-appreciated chairman of the ETSI General Assembly, having previously also served as vice-chair. Karsten also led a reform of the ETSI IPR policy and was the first chairman of the ETSI IPR committee.
Julian-PritchardJulian Pritchard’s first involvement with ETSI dates back to 1988 when he was a technical expert for BT contributing to the writing of EN 300 001 (NET4). He then joined ETSI secretariat as a Technical Editor before taking several positions within ETSI including Secretary to the ETSI General Assembly, to the ETSI Board and to the IPR Special Committee. He finally retired as ETSI’s Director of Governance Support in 2014.
Karl-Heinz-RosenbrockKarl Heinz Rosenbrock served as ETSI Director General from 1990 to 2006 and is now Honorary Director General. He was elected as ETSI’s second Director General only two years after the foundation of the Institute and has been the longest serving holder of that post. He helped shape the Institute into what it is today, creating a culture based on collaboration, transparency and putting people first.